View by category:
  • Te Puni Kōkiri to develop Family Violence Strategic Agenda for Iwi/Māori

  • Ministry of Social Policy, the Department of Child, Youth and Family Services and the Department of Work and Income (from 1998) created. These three agencies replaced the Department of Social Welfare. (see Garlick, 2012, p.207)
  • Māori Provider Development Fund established, administered by Te Puni Kōkiri Māori
  • Protecting Women and Children: An Interagency Response to Family Violence training kit jointly developed by NZ Police, NCIWR and CYPFA. Joint agency training of Police, social workers and community advocates is undertaken around the country
  • Family Violence Unit disbanded
  • Family Violence Focus Group co-convened by the Ministry of Social Policy and Crime Prevention Unit, comprising representatives from both government and non-government sectors. The focus group worked on developing a strategic plan for family violence
  • Responses to Crime: Annual Review 1999 (Ministry of Justice, 1999), a follow-up report, published
  • First refuge/safehouse for Asian/ethnic minority women in NZ established by Shakti Asian Women’s Support Group

    Ethnic communities
  • Guardianship Amendment Act 1995 introduced a presumption that parents who use violence should not have unsupervised access to their children. This amendment along with the principal act repealed by the Care of Children Act 2004 Legislation
  • Domestic Violence Act 1995 passed Legislation
  • Domestic Violence Education Intervention Project (DOVE) opened in Hawke’s Bay, based on HAIPP model
  • Men for Non Violence Network established (based on Men of Aotearoa)
  • Te Rūnanga Tāne (Māori men’s network) established

  • Hamilton Abuse Intervention Pilot Project (HAIPP) launched
  • Child Support Act 1991 passed Legislation
  • FVPCC conference, Family Violence: Prevention in the 1990s, held in Christchurch
  • Violence in New Zealand (Ritchie & Ritchie, 1990) published